University of Cambridge Museums

Projects, events and news from the University of Cambridge Museums

Evaluating Education at the Botanic Garden

UCM blog photoHey, I’m Megan Wilson and I have just started as an Education Evaluation Intern at the Cambridge University Botanic Garden.

Originally from Northern Ireland, I came to Cambridge in 2011 to sit my undergraduate degree in Biological Natural Sciences at Christ’s College (the college of Charles Darwin of course). After successfully graduating in June I immediately set off to travel Central and South America by bicycle for 7 months – an epic adventure I would recommend to anyone wanting to explore more off the beaten path! Now back in Cambridge until September, I am busy gaining interesting and useful work experience here at the Garden and with the RSPB (in conservation policy) before starting an exciting Masters in Environmental Change and International Development at the University of Sheffield.

The University of Cambridge Museums internship will be a fantastic opportunity to develop my skill set. Over a period of 12 weeks I will be busy devising and hopefully piloting a new framework for evaluation of our education programmes here at the Garden, particularly the adult courses and schools visits. Being able to effectively gauge feedback from those who take part in our programmes will not only allow us to improve our delivery of them but also help widen participation.

Being a passionate biologist I have become increasingly awed at our recent generation’s disconnection with nature. I hope this internship will give me an understanding of how we can better enthuse and engage people with the natural world, ultimately allowing us to lead a more sustainable future.

Megan Wilson, Education Evaluation Intern, Cambridge University Botanic Garden

Leave a Reply

